Scientific Organizers

  • Pascale Cossart

    Pascale Cossart, after studying chemistry in Lille (France) obtained a master degree at Georgetown University, Washington, DC. Back in France, she obtained her PhD in Paris in the Institut Pasteur where she is still now, heading the « Bacteria-Cell Interactions » unit which is also an Inserm and an INRA unit. After studying DNA-protein interactions, she started in 1986, to study the molecular and cellular basis of infections by intracellular bacteria taking as a model the bacterium Listeria monocytogenes. Her research has led to new concepts in infection biology but also in microbiology, in cell biology and in epigenetics.

    Pascale Cossart is considered as a pioneer in Cellular Microbiology. Her contributions have been recognized by a number of international awards, including the Robert Koch Prize (2007), the Louis Jeantet Prize for Medicine (2008), the Balzan Prize (2013). She is a member of the French Academy of Science (2002), a foreign member of the American National Academy of Science (NAS) (2009), of the German Leopoldina (2001), of the Royal Society (2010), and of the American National Academy of Medicine (NAM) (2014).

  • Jeff F. Miller

    Jeff F. Miller, Ph.D., studies molecular mechanisms of bacterial pathogenesis and the evolution of functional diversity in bacteria and phage. He received his bachelor’s degree in Chemistry from Case Western Reserve University and his Ph.D. in Molecular Biology from Tufts Univ. School of Medicine. After postdoctoral training with Dr. Stanley Falkow at Stanford, he joined the faculty at UCLA in 1990. From 2002-2014 he held the M. Philip Davis Chair in Microbiology and Immunology and served as Chairman of the Department of Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics. In November, 2014, he was appointed as the Fred Kavli Endowed Chair in NanoSystems Sciences and Director of the California NanoSystems Institute at UCLA. In 2004, Dr. Miller co-founded AvidBiotics Corp., a biotherapeutics company in South San Francisco. In 2009 he was appointed by the Secretary of Health and Human Services to serve on the National Science Advisory Board for Biosecurity and he is a voting member of the Board. From 2008-2010 he was Chair of the General Meeting of the American Society for Microbiology (ASM), and from 2012-2014 he served as President of ASM, which represents 40,000 members in the US and abroad. Dr. Miller is a former Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences, a member of the American Academy of Microbiology, a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and in April, 2015 he was elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences

  • Jean Rosenbaum

    Jean Rosenbaum joined the Office for Science and Technology of the French Embassy in Washington in September, 2016 as Scientific Attaché specialized in Life Sciences. His office is currently based in the French Consulate in Los Angeles, California.

    Before occupying this position, he was trained as a Medical Doctor, then worked as a research scientist for the National Institute of Health and Medical Research (INSERM, France). His first appointment was in the Paris area (Créteil, 1990-1995). Then in 1995, he moved to Bordeaux where he became the head of an INSERM laboratory (1995-2016). He was also the Director of the Department of Life Sciences and Health of the University of Bordeaux (2015-2016) and worked as scientific officer at the French High Council for the Evaluation of Research and Higher Education (HCERES, 2011-2016).

    Jean Rosenbaum’s research dealt mostly with liver diseases. He contributed to over 120 scientific publications.

With the kind support of